The Court has established specialist panels for its general federal law jurisdictions in BrisbaneMelbourne and Sydney. Similar panels will be established in other registries.

Panels comprise judges with expertise in that particular jurisdiction. Current panels include:

  • Commercial – including bankruptcy, copyright and consumer matters
  • Admiralty
  • Migration and administrative
  • Human rights
  • Industrial
  • National security

Divisions and the industrial law panel

The Fair Work (Transitional Provisions and Consequential Amendments) Act 2009 included miscellaneous amendments to the Federal Circuit Court of Australia Act 1999 to establish two Divisions within the Federal Circuit Court, a Fair Work Division, to hear and determine matters arising under the Fair Work Act 2009, and a General Division, to hear and determine matters arising under all other jurisdictions. 

As from 1 July 2009 proceedings in the Court must be instituted, heard and determined in one of these Divisions.

The industrial law panel was established prior to commencement of the Fair Work (Transitional Provisions and Consequential Amendments) Act 2009 and it is not intended that there will be any change to the allocation of industrial law proceedings from 1 July 2009 with the addition of the Fair Work division. Those judges who currently have industrial law matters docketed to them will continue to be allocated such proceedings in accordance with the usual listing practices.

Information for practitioners:

Information for practitioners is available in the following Court jurisdictions:

Admiralty: Conduct of maritime and admiralty work in the Federal Circuit Court of Australia

Migration: Notices to Litigants and Practitioners regarding migration proceedings in the Federal Circuit Court (NSW and Victoria) December 2005.

Related Information